• We're a fun, friendly, and diverse group of planners, placemakers, students, and other folks who found their people here. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! Use your email address, or register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

3 years professional experience - offered entry level position - career advise?

vangad

I have been working as a planner for 3 years but with the current administration and changes in my division with my responsibilities, I started applying for a new planning positions. I recently hesitantly applied for an entry level technician position with no experience required and was just offered the job. They offered 2 steps higher for the position but I feel that I might be settling if I accept it.

I have a master's degree and 3 years of experience. I was told they based the steps off my 3 years of experience. Is there any way I can negotiate? Can I use my master's degree to negotiate a higher step?

If I accept the position, would it take me back a few years since the new position is a demotion? And while the pay is higher for the new position, the cost of living is higher as well, and would actually be considered a relatively lower salary.

Any advise or comment would be much appreciated.

luckless pedestrian

Super Moderator
I think you have to answer a few questions to yourself to get your decision:

1. How bad do you want to leave your current job
  2. Even though it's technically a demotion, is the new job better than the one you have right now
  3. Is there room for growth at this new job
  4. If you negotiate for higher, remember you have to be prepared to walk and you have to be prepared that you would be starting a new position with higher expectations if you win your negotiation so can you handle walking away and can you handle the stress of starting a new job at a higher rate than they had budgeted