• Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no echo chambers. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! You can also register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

A planner -not yet

The Irish One

Hello I'm a newbie to this site- pretty cool stuff. I have been wrestling with going to a university to get a degree in Geography or Urban Studies/ PA. BUT I have decided to put my University days on hold and I'm sticking to my community college guns to get an A.A. in Surveying. I've started late with college (I'm 30) and decided I should push for a more immediate educational goal. Anyway, are there any surveyors in this forum who went on to the planning profession? Any general comments would be appreciated.

nerudite

Cyburbian
I do not know any surveyors that went on to become planners... I did know a surveyor that decided to go into business for himself by developing some land he bought (and designing the subdivision himself). He made a wad of cash, but I think his subdivision was a little lacking. At the time he joked that he was a planner (as in he designed the site) and he was a developer, and therefore he was his own nemesis. But I have a feeling that this isn't what you were talking about.

In any case, welcome to cyburbia!

gkmo62u

Cyburbian
Surveying is a good precursor--if thats what you want. IMO understanding LAND is critical and something many planners have no clue about. For now just make sure you ask a ton of questions of the engineers/landscape arch/planners you come into contact or work with...

mike gurnee

Cyburbian
My zoning administrator has the RLS. Comes in very handy with subdivision reviews. Downside is that he is often asked to correct problems created by other surveyors. We have to remind people that he is a city employee who is a surveyor--not a "City Surveyor."