• We're a fun, friendly, and diverse group of planners, placemakers, students, and other folks who found their people here. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! Use your email address, or register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

AICP application essay criteria

8hesaid

Cyburbian
I'm starting to think about my AICP essays to apply for taking the November 2016 exam. My one job where I was a municipal planning consultant in New Jersey comprises 65% of my experience. I rarely dealt directly with planning boards or elected officials (I didn't have a PP); that was done by my superiors who were the appointed planners for towns. Anytime I prepared site plan reviews, comp plan elements, etc., it went through my bosses and then to town officials.

For AICP essay criteria #3, "Influence Public Decision Making in the Public Interest", will AICP accept experiences where I didn't directly work with elected officials or a planning board as long as I clearly explain how it was my work they were considering and, for example, comments that I made in the site plan review actually became conditions of planning board approval?

Also, for anyone who recently applied to take the exam, has AICP been really strict on what they will accept for experiences for all criteria? My two other jobs, including my current one, are not as cut-and-dry planning.

DVD

Cyburbian
Sounds like you have it covered, but I'm not the judge. I did hear the APA is trying to be more strict on what is/isn't experience. Just do your best to explain why the jobs should be considered and good luck.

Suburb Repairman

moderator in moderation
I've been one of the AICP application essay peer reviewers. Feel free to send your actual response to me via PM. How you frame your response will make a difference.

MRogersHK