• We're a fun, friendly, and diverse group of planners, placemakers, students, and other folks who found their people here. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! Use your email address, or register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

AICP with private development wireless experience?

queenOdawg

Hi all,

Any help on crafting a passable employer verification letter from a real estate development company would be greatly appreciated from you all. Please offer suggestions.
This rather long question is for anyone familiar with the work experience required for becoming eligible to take the AICP examination for the first time with "non-traditional planning experience". A little background info: I graduated with a Master's Degree in Urban Planning from an accredited University (UW-Milwaukee School of Architecture and Urban Planning). For almost a decade after graduating I looked for and applied to hundreds of planning jobs without luck. Realizing doing the same thing over-and-over again and expecting different results was insanity, I reconnected with a former classmate and she helped me improve my resume to land my first temporary municipal planning position. I presented my staff reports at Conditional Use Permit hearings adhering to Robert's Rules of Order, led pre-application meetings advising the public land use regulations, reviewed building permit applications for compliance with zoning code regulations, interpreted the Comprehensive plan and how development proposals brought the city closer to their key goals for future growth.