• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Working Am I just a snowflake? Or is there a serious problem with the planning profession?

Sof

Hello - I am looking for any kind soul that has some time to talk about the planning profession. I have been practicing for over five years and I am considering a career change, but as a last ditch effort I would like a planner to talk to in case I have any hope of finding something that actually feels aligned with me for once. Any help would be so greatly appreciated and let me know if I can return the kindness in any way.

I've worked in a planning capacity for a university, city department, county health department, two private firms and none of them are jobs I liked. I have lived in small cities, and currently in a major city. I made the mental adjustments necessary to like the jobs, especially if I believed in the cause, and then I wake up and that willingness to perform in drudgery wears off. I will admit that I am the planning student trope - idealistic, thinking I'll help change the world (or at least city) because it is so desperately needed. The planning profession feels castrated and humiliated, especially in the public sector. Even in private firms, I find myself working my ass off to work on projects that pays the firm's bills but has no higher purpose, or worse (to an idealist like me), leads to a development against my values. I'm not looking for a golden job, but I would like to feel like I'm making a positive impact every once in a while. Even 60% of the time would be amazing...

Does anyone have any career advice for people with a urban planning background - for people like me?