• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

And this is going to help our sluggish job market how?

GeogPlanner

Cyburbian
we can all be replaced. does that rule apply to sleeper cells who are willing to dump trash to stay here?

iamme

Cyburbian
(generalizations ahead)

When is the last time you applied for a position listed as either "dishwasher", "hostess", or "laborer"?

BKM

Cyburbian
Elderly curmudgeon hat on...

When I was growing up, I worked as a dishwasher, cooked, mowed lawns, delivered newspapers, etc. This was in the Midwest, of course, and we didn't at that time have an imported cheap labor force to do the "dirty work."

Now, darn kids are too lazy and spoiled to do HARD WORK!

boiker

Cyburbian
dishwashing...ick

i did that for 6 months for my first job.. brutal brutal brutal.

besides washing dishes, i was the "utility" position, meaning i hauled out trash, grease, mopped, cleaned, cleared, clean bathrooms.... I was a rich man, making my 4.75 hr, which is what they payed way back in '94.

I then upgraded to a dairy queen, where i did much of the same and prepared/served ice cream, operated register, and on some days acted as manager. i think i left there making 5.30 hr in '96.

Then college "cush" jobs, working as a computer lab attendent. making again, a monsterous 5.15 hr. at least i wasn't washing dishes anymore.

Rumpy Tunanator

Cyburbian
Re: dishwashing...ick

boiker said:
besides washing dishes, i was the "utility" position, meaning i hauled out trash, grease, mopped, cleaned, cleared, clean bathrooms.... I was a rich man, making my 4.75 hr, which is what they payed way back in '94.
Did you work at McDonald's too?

iamme