• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Hi there! 👋 another newbie

Elisabeth

Cyburbian
Hello all! I thought I'd introduce myself because I've been browsing the forums since June and just registered...

My name is Elisabeth and I graduated from Catholic University in Washington, DC in May with a BA in Media Studies and a Philosophy minor. I'm back home in Albany, New York (glad to see some ALB representation already) and in the process of applying to grad school for next fall. The student lounge has been a lot of help in determing where I want to apply, so many thanks to those who post there.

As far as planning experience goes, I have little to none. But in an effort to offset two years of not horrible, but not great grades (contrary to popular collegiate belief, an almost full academic scholarship with no minimum GPA to maintain is NOT awesome), I interned at the Preservation League of New York State this summer. And, since I want to go into preservation planning, I'm hoping this experience will be useful when trying to be accepted (by the grace of god) to grad school.

Well, that's it from here--It's back to work/trying to stay awake after a weekend on Bourbon Street in New Orleans...

Jeff

Cyburbian
Welcome....

Stick around. Do you shave your legs in the winter? I know an upstate NYer that doesn't.

Cardinal

Cyburbian
Welcome! Historic preservation is a great field. Let us know where you are applying and we'll fill you in on what you can find there.

SGB

Cyburbian
Yehaw! You're not from the midwest!

Better yet, from (almost) upstate NY!

Greetings from the Southern Tier!

Elisabeth

Cyburbian