• Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, the built environment, planning adjacent topics, and anything else that comes to mind. No ads, no spam, and it's free. It's easy to join!

Planning? Anthropology and urban planning

kurtis_p

Hello rockstars --

I have a degree in anthropology and will begin a masters in urban planning this fall. I am wondering if you, the person reading this post, also have a background in anthropology/sociology and can speak to your experience transitioning from a social science to urban planning?

Stay excellent.

monchichin

Hey,

I am in the exact same position. I got my bachelor's degree in Anthropology and now I want to branch out and get my master's degree in Urban and regional planning. They seem like similar, yet quite different worlds. I wonder what it will be like.

I am quite curious as to how they two subjects connect.

DVD

Cyburbian
I can't give the best answer since I have a planning undergrad and no anthropology background, but I'll try anyway. I think knowing how and why people react to things provides a good background for planning. Part of it is obviously knowing how cities are formed, how people react to different designs, street patterns, things like that. I think planning classes can add a good amount of regulatory methods to making those designs happen.

ursus

Cyburbian, raised by Cyburbians