• We're a fun, friendly, and diverse group of planners, placemakers, students, and other folks who found their people here. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! Use your email address, or register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

Apartment living

Hi,
I'm a planning student at uni in Belfast and i'm currently working on a project entitled 'Do city centre luxury apartments have the capability to generate and sustain a self-conrained community of residents?'

At the minute i'm just trying to get an overall perspective on the attitudes of professional planners regarding said apartments, so any opinion at all from anyone would be very welcome.
Cheers

Marty,

If I recall correctly, the city of Charlotte, NC had big revitalization schemes and I went on a field trip with a developer who was doing luxury apartments very close to downtown to an extent of success. You might try contacting their ec.dev. board or planning dept. This link might help.

http://www.charlotte2010.com/index.htm

good luck!

kelly

BKM

Cyburbian
Apartments

Just remember: In the United States, apartments, and "those people" that live in them are EEEEEEVILLLL-even when the rents are higher than the mortgages of the blessed, sacred single family home dwellers! So, you should always try to DISCOURAGE apartments whenever possible. I would suggest you copy our whole NIMBY philosophy.

Tranplanner

maudit anglais