• We're a fun, friendly, and diverse group of planners, placemakers, built environment shapers, students, and other folks who found their people here. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! Register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account, or use your email address.

Best books for planners?

SoutheastMCRP

Cyburbian
I'm a new MCRP student looking for extra reading. What do you recommend as the best books for planners? I'm open to any and all suggestions including history, private development, etc. Just please, nothing that will put me to sleep :)

DVD

Cyburbian
I just ordered Between the Dog and the Fireplug. Not so much planning, but it should explain general politics of public service.

I read Zucker's book on the ABZs of Planning Management. Good information, keeps it somewhat light. It gets more into running a department than the design stuff. Also remember it was written by a consultant so it does have a little slant toward reducing regulation and red tape. Sometimes there's a reason behind the red tape.

I hear the High Cost of Free Parking is good, but I haven't read it myself.

glutton

Cyburbian
Next on my list is Geography of Nowhere, Happy City, and Triumph of the City. The World is Flat is also good.

ScottS481

Now that you've started school, I'm curious how much time you've found for that extra reading. In our first semester history and theory class, we didn't have time to finish all of the assigned readings, much less anything extra. Good luck in your program.

The One

Cyburbian
Yup

Now that you've started school, I'm curious how much time you've found for that extra reading. In our first semester history and theory class, we didn't have time to finish all of the assigned readings, much less anything extra. Good luck in your program.