• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Subdivision Can cities prohibit rentals as a condition of subdivision approval?

paiste13

Cyburbian
My gut tells me no but I'm coming up short with a google search looking for specific court cases saying as much.

Dan

Dear Leader
Staff member
(Context: United States as a whole. Individual states may have different precedent, or different levels of persuasive weight for considering precedent from other states. Canadian provinces might have different laws or precedent. For Louisiana, forget about anything I wrote below.)

(Disclaimer: I'm a professional urban planner, not an attorney.)

My gut tells me it's ... iffy.

There's no restrictions against restrictive covenants that limit rentals. Planning Board recommendation (or coercion) of owner occupancy covenant terms as an approval condition could be in a kind of murky area, though.

Zoning usually doesn't regulate form of tenancy, except in the case of "public health, safety, and welfare". (Example: requiring a minimum 24 hour room rental for lodging, so the use doesn't have the externalities of a "no-tell motel".)

If there's no precedent, it becomes a matter of first judgement; weighing the plain language and intent of the law against otherwise non-binding legal scholarship, logic, and sense of overall justice.