• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Career Option in Community/Regional Planning

Juanton80

I am a student that will enroll in a planning program this fall (Master's in Community Planning). The school that I will attend offers a dual program (Master's in Public Administration/Master's in Community Planning), but I am more interested in the planning degree and the classes that it offers. Am I at an advantage if I have both degrees as far as job options are concerned, or does this matter at all? Also, I am wondering how the job market is for planning jobs in the Southeast (GA, AL, FL, TN, SC).

vaughan

Cyburbian
I think that if you want to be a planner, having the planning degree will be enough. Personally, I chose to opt out of taking excess classes and getting more than one degree simply because I was more excited about getting out and doing the work than I was about studying other people doing the work.

Cardinal

Cyburbian
The joint degree will definitely give you more of an edge in seeking employment in the future. When you first graduate you will be confronted with the problem that employers are looking for both a master's degree and at least two years of experience. Later, you will be competing with others who have a masters in planning as well as experience. Anything you do to give yourself an edge will pay off. In addition, you just may learn a few things in the MPA program that will help you during your planning career.

Belle

Cyburbian