• We're a fun, friendly, and diverse group of planners, placemakers, students, and other folks who found their people here. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! Use your email address, or register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

Career Options without Planning Degree

mike5440

I am a midlife career-changer. My professional background is in sales (retail 😕!), and my degree is an associate's in liberal arts.

I am very interested in urban planning, but I lack experience or education in the field. I also feel that, at my age (late forties), it is impractical to go back to school for an extended period of time. I would, however, be willing to consider shorter-term retraining.

I realize it may be something of a long shot, but I was wondering if there might be any career options for a person like me in urban planning or a related profession. Possibilities that have occurred to me are a position in nonprofit advocacy, at a housing agency, or maybe something in real estate or property management.

Any suggestions anyone might have would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

mike5440

Thanks for all the great replies (I read through them, but got a message that some posts on the site had been deleted. If you still have them, please resend them. Thanks).

Real estate was possibly the first option I considered. I live in the San Francisco Bay Area, which needless to say has one of the hottest housing markets in the nation. It's so "hot," in fact, that I would consider what is going on to be essentially price gouging (a bio I saw for a realtor listed foreclosures as one of her "specialties"). I'm a Christian and, to be honest, have moral issues with pursuing a career in real estate in my area, for this and other reasons. I do wonder, however, if there might be other options in real estate (maybe on the commercial end?).