• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

civil engineering vs. urban planning

Status
Not open for further replies.

krebstar

hey,
I wanted to get your opinions on this:
I'm currently a student in civil engineering at the university of illinois at urbana-champaign but I'm very interested in urban planning. I am in the process of switching into urban planning for next semester but I was wondering what you guys thought about this. Should I finish my civil degree and then get a masters in planning? Would it be useful? I've discovered that I'm much more interested in the broader social picture than the engineering/technical side, but I don't want to regret switching out of engineering.
thanks.

ludes98

Cyburbian
Go planning!

Seriously- I am planner, but work at civil design firm. We do planning services in addition to design and a few of the folks doing planning are engineers. You could do planning without the planning degree in alot of communities, but not the other way around. The masters in planning would be nice since alot of communities want these degrees, but I have no idea if civil engineering will get you into a master in planning program.

inzane

Cyburbian