• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Comments on UIOWA Masters Program

I have been offered admission into University of Iowa's masters in Urban Planning program, but have had little contact with current or former students. Anyone out there who can comment on the their program?

DecaturHawk

Cyburbian
Contour said:
I have been offered admission into University of Iowa's masters in Urban Planning program, but have had little contact with current or former students. Anyone out there who can comment on the their program?
I am a graduate of the program, as is one of the moderators of this fourm, giff57. PM me (PM=private message) and I will be happy to tell you all about it in detail.

In a nutshell, Iowa's program is policy oriented. If you want to learn how to draw and draft and design, you should probably look into Iowa State or Illinois or one of the other design-oriented schools. If you want a policy orientation, Iowa is top notch. And Iowa City is a great place to spend your grad years. Let me know what your interests are and I can point you to some resources.

giff57

Corn Burning Fool
Staff member
Yes.....what he said :) I can also give you a couple of names of folks in Iowa City you can chat with.

If you have questions, just ask.

Thanks, more please..

DecaturHawk said:
I am a graduate of the program, as is one of the moderators of this fourm, giff57. PM me (PM=private message) and I will be happy to tell you all about it in detail.