• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Zoning Contingent approval of rezoning request?

gtpeach

Cyburbian
When I went to fancy Zoning Administrator training, one of the things that was always emphasized was that all proffers placed on rezoning requests had to be voluntarily offered by the applicants. These had to be submitted in writing prior to the Board of Supervisors meeting.

A B&B owner across the street from me had requested to rezone their property to allow them to also operate a very small nano-brewery in conjunction with their B&B. I have no issues with this request, and since I used to be a fancy Zoning Administrator, the owner had asked my advice on developing some of the proffers after getting feedback from the Planning Commission (I just helped her with wording and asked questions that would help her clarify what she wanted to do with the property - no actual advice on what proffers to place or anything).

I recently asked her for an update, and she told me that the Board had voted at the most recent meeting that they would tentatively approve the rezoning request contingent upon the County Attorney's review of the proffers. I asked her why they didn't just table the vote to let the attorney review it, and she told me that the attorney HAD already reviewed it, but that no one could remember what he had said in response (he doesn't regularly attend the Board meetings). So it is back on the agenda for the upcoming meeting.