• Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no echo chambers. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! You can also register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

Criticisms of Community Development

Hello Everyone!

I am new to this forum and I dont even know if this is the place for my question, but here goes:

I am a student who is interested in processes of community development in inner-city neighborhoods. Specifically, I am interested in what is wrong with current and past policies and programs.

Please chime in whith your opinion and any articles or books that deal with the subject!

Thank You

Christian

Repo Man

Cyburbian
I think a lot of projects intended to help the inner city are misguided "feel good" solutions that fail to address the real problems in the inner city. A lot of times a city will put a community center or some other social agency in the inner city with the belief that will spur economic development or cure social ills. While it may help people, it won't necessarily spur more investment in the neighborhood.

I think that cities need to focus more on things like small business startup loans, addressing safety concerns, providing revolving loans to help business owners make up the gap between what they need and what banks will lend them, and other things that encourage and assist development. I think that cities need to focus on (pardon the cliche) helping people help themselves, instead of just throwing money at the inner city hoping it will fix all the problems.

Wannaplan?

Galactic Superstar