• We're a fun, friendly, and diverse group of planners, placemakers, students, and other folks who found their people here. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! Use your email address, or register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

Economic planning components

Grassroots

Cyburbian
Greetings! I am currently serving as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ukraine. I am working on a regional planning project focusing on economic development for three satellite communites outside of a 1.5 million population urban center. My director is working under a EU grant to convert, in part, old Soviet military facilities in these cities to workable economic development opportunties. However, my background is more in physical planning. Can anyone give me the basic components to include in an economic development plan? Remember, this is REALLY a grassroots effort (hence my name) so think more of starting from a VERY basic beginning. I know to include aspects such as population, current workforce skills base, etc. Just need more direction. Crazy how we take such basic things such as open availability of census data for granted in the US!?! Thanks.

Cardinal

Cyburbian
It sounds like a fun project. The Economic Development Administration in the Department of Commerce has some planning guides available on their web site. Look for "Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy." I have also found the Western Rural Development Center to be helpful. Try these and if there are specific questions you have I can probably point you to a few more resources.

Chet

Cyburbian Emeritus
These are the items we put in our RFP for an Economic Development Strategic Plan:

Lee Nellis

Cyburbian
Your context is different there, but I remind you that your physical planning skills are still highly relevant. There is no ED without a sound public infrastructure. There is no lasting ED without attention to environmental quality.

luckless pedestrian

Super Moderator