• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Hi there! following bread crumbs back

monkeyflower

Cyburbian
Some time ago, during undergrad, I lurked cyburbia a bit while a wannabe planner. Checking the referral logs on my blog the other day, I decided I'd check back and see what people are saying about me. :)

I'm a planning grad student at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. I'm a native of that area and have lived here my whole life, aside from a 1.5 year purgatory in New Jersey. As a sixth generation Detroiter, I'm one of the few idiots who thinks it's worth trying to save the place, so I'll probably be in the area for a good deal longer.

Budgie

Cyburbian
Historic lurker to poster -- thata Monkey !!!!!

Welcome back, your dreams are your ticket out .... Welcome back, to that same old place we laughed about .......

mendelman

Unfrozen Caveman Planner
Staff member
Welcome from Chicago!

As UM double alum (BA-History 2000, MUP 2002), I say huzzah to your enthusiasm. Detriot needs people like you to turn it around. I am a former Michigan resident (born & raised in Alpena, MI), but I just couldn't stay because I love car-free urbanism, and thereis very little to none in Michigan.

But I couldn't leave the Great Lakes, so I'm still nearby, and my wife's and mine families are still in Michigan, so I like to keep up on what's happening.

Now......go give the Cube a spin for me! :-D

JNA

Cyburbian Plus
monkeyflower said:
aside from a 1.5 year purgatory in New Jersey.
Q. Why was your Jersey experience so bad ?

BTW welcome from north of the Ohio and east of the Wabash Rivers.

Chet

Cyburbian Emeritus