Careers 🎩 Got a job offer, but put in a TOUGH situation; what should I do?

NovicePlanner

I'm a recent grad with 1.5 years of private planning experience. Everything was great until my manager left and my new manager was neglectful and I had little to no work from him. And because of billable hours, I'm on the verge of being terminated. I wanted to transition to public sector planning to work as a Planning Tech/Planner I/Assistant Planner and so this was my new goal.

I've been aggressively applying since March and have been turned down after 5 interviews (2 final interviews) and 12 places have turned me down immediately without one. As of today, I have about 6 applications submitted awaiting first round feedback, waiting to hear back decisions for 2 places, and have 1 interview scheduled next week.

As you can see, I'm open to relocation (within 400 miles) and I learned that these positions seem to be highly coveted and competitive.

This place, however, is about 700 miles out and in a small City. This was the "least" desirable place I sent my application out to. Mainly in part due to the higher cost of living but lower pay. I understand entry level planners don't get paid squash, but all of the places I've applied to so far (20+ applications) are at least $65K-70K+ with comparable living costs. This place is 40K to start but a healthy increase after 1 year, albeit still below 50K)

I'm extremely happy to have gotten this offer, especially having been feeling very worthless with rejections and having to continue working in a toxic workplace. Despite having private planning experience, I believe having 0 public planning experience has made it harder to stand out.

They want to hear back from me preferably by next Monday (4 days from now), while I'm still awaiting to hear back from 2 places ($76K starting pay) and have an interview next Wednesday ($55K starting, but close to home so I can live rent-free with my parents).