• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Hi there! Greetings from the Buckeye State!

presOhio

Well....

After at least a year of lurking around, loving the discussions and taking an occasional stab at the "GTC," I made the plunge and registered. Now I too hold myself out as a Cyburbian!

I am an attorney and also staff for a statewide historic preservation organization. In fact, Ohio is the only state in the country with two statewides (lucky us), and we are the only statewide preservation organization in the entire US of A which is not affiliated with the National Trust (a very long story...). With that, however, comes a strong, 22-year corporate history of innovative, hands-on preservation work. At present, for instance, we are formulating a comprehensive approach to Ohio's growing problem with decaying traditional neighborhoods -- particularly those around its decaying mid-sized central cities.

Personally, my favorite metro areas are Boston (except for the crazy drivers and that ugly City Hall), Salt Lake City (did my undergrad at the U of Utah), and Pittsburgh -- the only major US city I know with an entrance (through the Fort Pitt tunnel -- it takes one's breath away). For smaller towns, there's no place like Madison, Indiana (though Saratoga Springs, NY comes close). I am an avid student of trends in urban economic geography, quality architecture (both old and new), and, above all, I love places that get "it" - the rare ability to capitalize on their existing resources in a way which draws you in.

Looking forward to participating.....

JNA

Cyburbian Plus
Welcome