• We're a fun, friendly, and diverse group of planners, placemakers, students, and other folks who found their people here. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! Use your email address, or register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

Greetings

JNL

Cyburbian
Hi all,

I am from Wellington, the capital city of New Zealand. It is a harbour city of 165,000 people. My job title is Researcher, Built Environment, which covers all sorts of things! I'm not a planner, but I find Cyburbia a useful resource for some of the areas I'm interested in - for example, assessing and improving the "walkability" of inner city walking networks, Crime Prevention Through Environmental Design, fear of crime as an deterrent to the use of public transport, and inner city revitalisation. Like GeogPlanner I am the baby at my workplace. I am thinking of studying planning (previously I studied Criminology and Psychology).

Jen :)

JNL

Cyburbian
No-one seems to want to reply to me :-( Is it because I'm not a planner? Or because I'm from New Zealand?? What do people know about New Zealand?

mike gurnee

Cyburbian
JNL, give us some time to reply. Over in the states, it is a national Holiday, and in parts of Canada, there is a municipal labor strike.

From your job description, you are as much a planner as many of us. Titles are often meaningless anyway. Criminology/psych is an interesting background for the study of urban issues. I am sure we will enjoy your perspective as you participate in cyburbia.

What do I know of New Zealand: enough not to join your country and Australia in the same sentence.

JNL

Cyburbian
That's right Mike - New Zealand has two main islands: the North Island and the South Island, and then there's that other little place you referred to (in the same sentence!), which we sometimes call our West Island.

el Guapo

Capitalist
Welcome