• Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no echo chambers. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! You can also register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

Hel-lo!

Chris

Hi everyone!

I had a few peeks on the board these days while searching for an opportunity in urban planning in the U.S., so I'll take the opportunity to introduce myself:

I'm studying geography in Germany and I attended the unis of Marburg, Frankfurt and Bonn, where I'm still sitting right now (and it's one of the dullest places you can possibly think of). I took urban geography and GIS / remote sensing as prime subjects, that is, as far as you can compare the german system of education with the american one.

So far I had an internship in Mauretania (West Africa), establishing a GIS - aided project to fight overgrazing. That was quite an experience, because it clearly showed where GIS and planning is NOT appropriate. ;)

Right now I'm doing another intern in a sort of nuclear research plant, trying to manage IDL. We are slowly getting friends...

We are oblieged to have a total of six months of internship, and I covered only four, so I'm looking for another one in north america: restrictions in planning are quite heavy for several reasons all across Europe, so I hope to get a glimpse over the edge :)

Right, I'll throw myself in and see what you guys are up to.
Cheers! :B

Chet

Cyburbian Emeritus
Sounds like you have some very interesting experiences. I look forward to hearing your persective on things.

Welcome to Cyburbia.

NHPlanner

Forums Administrator & Gallery Moderator
Staff member
Welcome aboard Chris. Nice to have another non-american perspective on the boards. :B

SGB

Cyburbian
Welcome, and thanks for adding yet more international flavor to the boards!