• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Hi there! 👋 Hello all...

daytondevelopment

Cyburbian
Hi there, glad to meet you all. My name is Jason and I am a community development student at Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio. I am glad to see that such a great forum exists!

Anyway, I plan to be a regular poster here, but I do have a question about a project I am working on.

One of the cities near Dayton has an overabundance of rental units when compared with owner occupied housing. The rental market remains high due to the proximity of Wright State University and Wright-Patterson AFB.

I am doing a research project on this issue to see what can be done. I already have a ton of data, but I really can't get a feel for the issue. Do you think that this problem is unique to this city or is it a common occurrence around the nation? The city boasts a pop. of 32,052, 14,419 housing units (13,615 of which are occupied). 7034 are owner-occupied houses, with 6581 renter-occupied units.

I would like some advice about this project, but I am not asking for someone to do it for me! I just want to go into the right direction.

Thanks for your help and I look forward to meeting you all.

dd:)

Welcome to Cyburbia :)

If you haven't done so already, I suggest gathering the same data for a couple of other cities with the same or similar populations and compare them.

Exactly what is the problem? Is the city suffering from a diminshed tax base due to the lack property tax?

SGB

Cyburbian
Welcome, DD!

It sounds like the city you are studying has an inherently mobile population, being host to both a college and an AFB.