• Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no echo chambers. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! You can also register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

Hello Planner-Types!

Hello Planner-Types!

What a wonderful forum to banter back and forth with folks in the industry.

I'm an AICP City Planning consultant in the San Francisco Bay Area of California; otherwise known as the "Left Coast;" where they say that the women are pretty and so are the men. Sense of humor required.

Feel free to say hello, and start the conversation with:

1- what was the weirdest inquiry you received from the public this month (on the job inquiries only...!)
2- what is the fashion attire of your office?
3- are you looking for a job on the Left Coast?
4- Hey, I'm tired of California. I'd like to be in the Miami area, know anybody I can connect with? :D
Thanks.
Grace

PlannerGirl

Cyburbian Plus
Welcome Grace!

Dave and I work in a stuff shirt kinda office-totaly humorless and no casual days :-(

Again welcome aboard and dont let us scare ya, its a friendly strange sorta crowd.

D

Cardinal

Cyburbian
Welcome on board!
1) No injuries here.
2) Casual - khakis and short sleeve or golf shirt most days, tie if I have an important meeting, and shorts if I feel like I need to leave early.
3) Jobs on the west coast, eh....?
4) I know plenty of folks in Wisconsin, is that close enough to Miami?

Chet

Cyburbian Emeritus
Welcome to Cyburbai Grace. Glad to see you enjoy the humor here.

Hi Grace :)

1. I'm also a private consultant but my work with the public has been relatively minimal (to date), so no weird inquiries for me.

2. The office fashion attire is professional with casual Fridays.

3. Looking for jobs.....hmmm....not really, not yet at least ;).