• Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no echo chambers. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! You can also register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

hello

bestnightmare

Cyburbian
first, i have zilch planning experience.

and i wish i had realized how much this field interests me sooner... my undergraduate years would have been much more interesting, to say the least. anyway, i graduated from michigan in '02, majored in psych, and now work as a paralegal in a large law firm. needless to say, it didn't take long to figure out that law school isn't for me...

so i'm an armchair urban planner, (read: major geek) and am especially interested in issues of mass transit, and curbing auto-dependent development. the washington, d.c. area, where i live, is a hotbead for many of these issues, including horrible traffic problems, a clogged, money-swilling metro system, rampant sprawl from the mountains to the sea (literally), and chronic NIMBYism.

i wanna go for a MUP. does anyone have anything good/bad to say about u-maryland's mup program? (i'd get in state tuition, plus i consider the d.c. area home)

nerudite

Cyburbian
Hi, and welcome. :)

I think you'll find that many of us did not know that we wanted to be planners during our undergrad days. I was a geography major, so at least it's somewhat related. But then... there are days when I'm dealing with a total wacko at the counter that I wish I had a psych major, too. ;)

p.s. I don't know a thing about east coast schools. Sorry!

Chet

Cyburbian Emeritus
bestnightmare said: