• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Hi there! 👋 Hello

Rem

Cyburbian
Hi, I've been watching for a while and now decided to join in.

I'm a manager working in Local Government on the east coast of Australia. My professional background is in town planning though most of my responsibilities these days revolve around general management duties.

The 'City' I work for has a population of 180,000. It is actually a collection of towns and suburbs. We are located immediately south of Newcastle (pop. 130,000) and together we form the bulk of the largest non-capital-city urban area in Australia. You can visit us here.

It is a geographically beautiful area. A shot from one of our webcams on the above link will attest. We have a mountain range to the west, a big lake in the middle (actually a lagoon for the geographers among you) and the Pacific Ocean on the east. We are about 150 km (90+ miles) north of Sydney.

On a personal note I've recently crossed the great divide (ie. I'm over 40), I'm married, have an ancient pet cat and don't own a gun.

Due to the time difference I will probably be tucked up in bed when most of you read this, so please don't think I'm rude if you have to wait for my response to any comment, question or sledge.

green lizard

Rem said:

On a personal note I've recently crossed the great divide (ie. I'm over 40), I'm married, have an ancient pet cat and don't own a gun.

No gun? Im a little divided myself.
I checked out the site, great looking location.

Welcome from another recent addition.

SGB

Cyburbian
Welcome! Great to haven another participant from outside North America.

And no, I don't own a gun either.

Cardinal