• We're a fun, friendly, and diverse group of planners, placemakers, students, and other folks who found their people here. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! Use your email address, or register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

I'm a newbie and not a planner

Bucky alum

Hey all-

I was directed to this site by a friend who is in Grad School in Urban Planning. We disagree on many items, he is for urban renewal, and "New urban design" and "smart growth" Items here that you all have discussed. I don't have a clue what these items mean, but I know what I like and don't like.

Well, I currently work in the airline industry, and as you probably know its not the best time to work for an airline. Basically, I have a few questions that somewhat deal in your field of work. Any insight would be appreciated.

I currently work in Finance for a 'Big 6" airline handling budget items at a hub. It is interesting work as I deal with every department at the hub and see how everything works. I was originally going to be working at Headquarters in the route planning department and profitability department. However that has been put on hold. Additionally, if I want to grow at this company they say I need an MBA or a Masters in a related field. What I am looking for would be a program in school that would teach me about Planning and forecasting in the transportation field? Is there such a thing? Are there any schools that are better than the rest? I mean I read the thread that states it doesn't matter where to go to school.