• Back at the office or school? Still working from home? Need to vent, or just connect with other planner and built environment types? Come join us!

Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing or masks required.

Working ✍️ Importance of Office Culture for Entry-level Public Sector Planner Interview?

NovicePlanner

Hi All,

I'm a recent graduate with a bachelors and one year of private sector environmental consulting experience. I recently applied for an Assistant/Associate level planner position for a small town with a population less than 5000. A bulk of my coursework was on urban planning so I have some academic experience. I've made it past the first initial resume/qualifications sort through and passed the second stage which involved a writing exam and provided a writing sample. I was called and scheduled for a formal interview and this will be my first time interviewing in the public sector area. I'm preparing by utilizing the helpful stickied thread for entry level planners, but also had a few more that weren't addressed in the thread:

1) How big is office culture in the public sector? In my interviews with private firms, they would always highlight my hobbies and with the firm I worked at, they were excited that I was very outgoing, adventurous and easy to talk to for happy hours. Do I need to present that or would I just be wasting my time?

2) Having no experience working in the public sector and only one for a private firm, is there anything they might quiz me on that I can potentially prepare for? They must know that I have zero public sector planning experience, so I'm confused on what they could expect me to know coming into this formal interview?