• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Jobs after graduation?

I'm a first year MA student at UCLA, on leave for the quarter and working full time in an unrelated field (computer programming, my former profession). Anyway, I'm debating whether to re-enroll in the Fall...And I wanted to know how common it is for MA students to have a job lined up before graduation. None of the second years I've talked to here have any offers, they are all planning on being unemployed for a few months while they look for work. I find this astonishing, frankly...I don't know whether this is a quirk of UCLA, or a symptom of a bad job market, or what, but certainly its not a situation I want to be in myself. Anyone care to share their observations? Do most people in your program have job offers by the time they graduate?

Cardinal

Cyburbian
What you are hearing is very common, not only for Ucla, and not only in planning. Except for the really sought-after grads (engineering, etc.) very few people graduate with a job already lined up.

jordanb

Cyburbian
Heh, I know a ton of out-of-work engineering grads. :-D

I'm actually thinking about going to europe for a few years after graduation. I've been speaking to a scottish coworker of mine and he seems to think it's pretty easy to get a work visa (easier than getting one here as a european according to him). Since I'm getting an English undergrad, I plan on ether doing translation work or teaching ESL (you don't need a teaching certificate :-D).