• We're a fun, friendly, and diverse group of planners, placemakers, built environment shapers, students, and other folks who found their people here. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! Register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account, or use your email address.

masters planning programs

avisame

I'm planning to apply to masters planning programs this fall, and would like to get opinions on top schools for a returning student (I graduated from undergrad 5 years ago) with no direct planning work experience interested in environmental planning/resource management (esp. water mgt). I'm in California now but would like to return back east (or, at least, more east; at least from Minnesota to Texas east). I'd like to go to a school with a strong reputation that will be respected nationally, since I'm not sure where in the county I'll end up. From the accredited list, I'm most impressed by UM-Ann Arbor & Cornell, but I'd like to get the views of those in the field before deciding where to apply. Any thoughts?

NHPlanner

Forums Administrator & Gallery Moderator
Staff member
Schools with good rep's

I'm of course biased (since I'm an alum) but Ball State University has an excellent Urban Planning Program (http://www.bsu.edu/cap/planning/planning.html).

Other schools with good reputations: University of North Carolina @ Chapel Hill, Iowa State University, and you mentioned Michigan in Ann Arbor.

My advise is that regardless of the school you choose, make sure it is accredited by the PAB.

Good Luck.

maphead

master planning programs

Though no real world ranking of schools may be readily available no applicant shold decide on a program without at least looking at the PAB and ACSP guides.
APA's (java heavy,slow) site offers some research starting points
http://www.planning.org/institutions/index.htm

A printed guide is published about every 3 years or so.

Look at what progress a school has accomplished in it's community.