• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Hi there! 👋 New Member

jsk1983

Cyburbian
After reading quite a few of the posts over the last week I have finally decided to join. I stumbled across this site after looking for Virtual Cheektowaga which is of sadly no more. I looked through here and saw that my hometown seemed to be mentioned quite a bit, especially by Dan. Looking through the galleries I even saw a picture of my own street.
I am from Buffalo, NY (actually Williamsville, a village in Amherst) and am currently a second year student at SUNY Binghamton. I am majoring in history but have aspirations of getting my masters in urban planning. I should be able to graduate by next year so thus I need to start looking at graduate schools. I may end up going to Uuniversity of Buffalo, although I would ideally like to live in another part of the country for a while and expierence a region other than upstate New York. I have not formally started looking but I am interested in schools in the state of Oregon.
Looking through the job listings I noticed that they all seem to require some sort of expierence. What I would like to know is if it hard to find a position in the planning field.
Thats all for now.
-JSK1983

Rem

Cyburbian
Hello and welcome from downunder jsk1983. You will no doubt be warmly embraced by OFL* due to your common background (Buffalo).

*Our Fearless Leader

JNA

Cyburbian Plus
Welcome from SW Indiana.

thougths on grad school - instate tuition or "Go West Young Man".
job experience - discussed before - get started with a internhip / workstudy.

SGB

Cyburbian
Greetings from 40 miles north of you. :-D