• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Hi there! 👋 New to Cyburbia

Crazeeeguy

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the Cyburbia Forums; I'll tell you a little about me then ask for a little advice. I'm originally from outside of Houston, Texas in a rural town increasingly threatened by suburban and rural sprawl of the western suburbs. I am currently an senior at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina, where I'm teaching a class on creating Sustainable Cities. I will graduate in May with a degree in Public Policy Studies

I've just recently completed the application process to Masters programs in City or Urban/Regional Planning Programs across the country, and have been accepted to 9 of the 10 of the schools I applied to (still waiting to hear back from Berkeley :p )

I'm trying to make a final decision between UNC-Chapel Hill and Portland State University. Both of these schools have offered me full tuition scholarships and substantial stipends to attend, and after my visit at UNC, I was really convinced about the quality of their program.

Can anyone offer me some insights into Portland State's program, or give me any advice on making this important and difficult decision?

Thanks!

nerudite

Cyburbian
Welcome to cyburbia! Congrats your acceptances/scholarships... way to go! As to your question about PSU, I have no idea. I heard good things about it when I lived in Portland, but I really don't know too much about the program itself. Good luck in your grad studies :)

Welcome :)

I don't know much about those schools, but did you check out the Student Forum? There may be some discussion them.

mendelman

Unfrozen Caveman Planner
Staff member