• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Hi there! 👋 Official Intro to The Michele Zone

This is my Official Intro. I already spouted off elsewhere without first introducing myself. I actually have manners. I just don’t always know where I left them.

(Warning: You are now entering The Michele Zone. Please bring your sense of humor.)

The name is Michele. (I bet you guessed that.) I am still a college student but I will probably be launching my own business -- any minute now -- rather than getting a boring old job with a nice steady, secure paycheck. Sort of like that Chinese Curse: May you live in Interesting Times.

My academic background includes an AA in Humanities and a Certificate in GIS. I will soon complete my Bachelor’s in Environmental Resource Management with a Concentration in Land Use Planning and Policy. I have also picked out the college where I intend to get my Master’s in Planning and Development Studies.

I do not have a business yet, but I do have a business card, a website, and some ‘customers’. I have traded skills with a friend who has been hosting my website on her business’ website (as well as doing the design and webmistressing). I recently designed a brochure for her, tweaked her logo, and critiqued her catalog so she could improve it.

I also have been doing pro bono consulting work for a homeless shelter where I did an internship last year. I am nearly done automating their paperwork system to the degree they desire, except for this little detail of designing a database for them. I have been saving that baby for last and hope to begin wrestling it to the ground sometime real soon. lol.