• We're a fun, friendly, and diverse group of planners, placemakers, students, and other folks who found their people here. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! Use your email address, or register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

On being a Director and the Care and feeding of Millennial Employees in a Municipal Environment

Faust_Motel

Cyburbian
So, I'm a new director- I have some great people working for me, but they are younger and want to go a million miles an hour with flexible work hours, work-from-home, floating days off, etc, etc, etc. They do really, really great work but we are in a crusty old municipal environment where you puts your time in at the salt mines and you punch a card at the end of the day. Me? I'm a young Genx. I've been working that slog without (much) complaint for nearly 20 years to get where I am. I like the benefits of municipal work, (great benefits holidays, vacation, personal time, tons of sick time...) but we aren't Google and there's no free snacks in the fridge. And, as a new director, I need to be mindful of balancing my asks to the Big Boss about workplace stuff with the asks I'm making to get my planning agenda off the ground (finally!). Two of my people are in their first "real" jobs ever and seem to have no idea how good they have it as compared to the private sector. Neither have experienced the stability of a rock-solid job that carries you through a bad recession. Neither have spouses or kids that benefit from health insurance... Neither of them seem to understand that the Big Boss isn't going to compartmentalize their issues about wanting more time off away from their desires to push planning initiatives. One blew almost all of the department's social capital last year pursuing a minor grievance against the Big Boss (including an appeal to the big Boss's Bosses, the electeds..) and I think it damaged our department's relationship with said Big Boss.