• Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no echo chambers. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! You can also register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

on Sarin's chaos theory

Grassroots

Cyburbian
Dear Sarin...

i would like to applaud you for introducing this topic. I am also studying chaos theory's application to planning, albeit in conjunction with other theories. chaos theory essentially finds it's roots in mathematical probability theory and is a newly emerging concept. however, i am more interested in the qualitative aspects. in my search for the perfect planning form, i am reading a lot on social theory between east and west perspestives. carl jung and other philospohers have predicted for a long time that eventually there will be a grand fusion of many disciplines that have previously been seperated due to man's tendency to categorize and understand. for example, you start to notice how completely seperate arenas of thought and ground breaking theories are finding common ground on a number of themes. for example, physics and psycology, biology and religion. what many are finding is that a lot of theories of completely seperate disciplines are making their way into common nomenclature of strong sciences. when looking at the history of planning, it emerged from the "hard" disciplines of architecture, engineering.. that is until it started becoming influenced by other social disciplines such as landscaping and sociology. for example, why not look at it from a religious perspective (i hope i am not opening a can of worms here). in the west, we are essentially brought up in such a way to recognize the individual. joseph cambell and others put it as: we (in the west) are essentially a collection of seperate egos running around satisfying our individual desires, whereas in