• We're a fun, friendly, and diverse group of planners, placemakers, students, and other folks who found their people here. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! Use your email address, or register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

Uses Outdoor firing/shooting ranges

Bangorian

Hi all,

Just back to the forums after a loooooooooooong hiatus into the world of GIS. Glad to be back.

I work as a junior planner in a smallish service-center community. We have a resident who has built an outdoor firing range in a semi-rural part of town, a use for which we have have no ordinance language at present. So, we are looking at ordinance language to allow the use in a reasonable manner, and need something "bulletproof" (excuse the pun). We have a history of code / property rights disputes with this gentleman, and there are large suburban estates nearby who are very unhappy with the noise. Everyone's ready to sue us and everyone else, which we'd like to avoid...

NRA has design guidelines for ranges but from what I've seen they're really not oriented toward land use regulation from the municipal perspective.

Does anyone have or know of any good municipal ordinances regarding firing ranges? Google turns up a handful but not a comprehensive list.

Thank you!
Sean

Coragus

Cyburbian
My township amended firing ranges about two years ago. They don't regulate personal ranges in the Rural district, but they regulate commercial ranges and require a Special Use Permit (SUP). The term "commercial" is pretty liberal.

If you want to see the ordinance, let me know and I'll shoot it to you.

DVD

Cyburbian