• Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no echo chambers. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! You can also register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

Quick Query on Vacation Time?

Lee Nellis

Cyburbian
How much vacation time would your employer offer a planner with 30 years of experience? I need to know. I have been offered what otherwise appears to be a sweet deal, but that includes only two weeks vacation.

ludes98

Cyburbian
I work in the private sector. Our firm officially gives no preference to years in the profession only years with the firm. However I know it's negotiable before signing on the dotted line.

Repo Man

Cyburbian
If you have 30 years experience and you are not getting at least 4 weeks, you are getting screwed (in my opinion). Most people with a mere 5 years of employment have 3 weeks. Two weeks is entry level.

Chet

Cyburbian Emeritus
I agree with Repo.

I have 14 years in, and I get 4 weeks. At 30 years, you'd better be near 5 weeks even if its a negotiated item prior to hire.

BKM

Cyburbian
That seems a little stingy, but many public sector employers do base their vacation offerings on time with agency.

For comparison: I would get four weeks at 10 years vacation. Plus, management employees get no "comp time" for night meetings, weekends, and extra work time, so we get about 100 hours of cashable "personal leave" per year.

Cardinal

Cyburbian
Government, especially in some states, is really stingy with the vacation. I would try for four, and insist on three, without a long wait for four. If they are hiring for a senior-level position, insist on senior-level benefits.

Lee Nellis

Cyburbian
I forgot to mention that this is a director's position, with supervisory responsibility, and for a jurisdiction that is doing very well financially.

JNA