• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Realizing a PhD is the way to go

djmadnan

Hey all,
I'd like to know if anyone out there has been in the same quagmire as me. I graduated in 2002 from U of I Champaign (anyone out there???) with a Masters of Planning and a Law Degree. In the first round, I applied to about 75 jobs, went on 5-10 interviews and wound up employed by February for a substandard salary as a Program Coordinator with a local community development advocacy group. Suffice to say it sucked. The people, the work, just about everything.

The long term implication is that I don't know how much I like planning practice when it becomes completely muddled by politics, race, gender, and damn NIMBYs. I don't like menial tasks like moving boxes or grantwriting.

But I loved school, writing, theorizing and the world of me and my pen and paper. I've long thought academia might be the right direction, but after 8 years of college already, how long can one remain a student?

Do any current PhDs or people dissatisified with the professional planning world vis-a-vis grad school care to offer an opinion on the matter?

I'd also like to know how difficult admissions are compared to Master's programs. I would really like to go Ivy if I am headed towards a PhD, and I was admitted to Ivies for Masters work.

Thanks~
djmadnan

Duke Of Dystopia

Cyburbian
djmadnan said:
Hey all,The long term implication is that I don't know how much I like planning practice when it becomes completely muddled by politics, race, gender, and damn NIMBYs. I don't like menial tasks like moving boxes or grantwriting.