Say goodbye to vBulletin 4, and hello to XenForo!

Dan

Dear Leader
Staff member
I've been meaning to do this for a long, long time.

vBulletin 4 sucks. It's a resource hog, and the root cause of overloading and crashing the server. vBulletin 4 deoended on an "end of life" version of MySQL, which meant I couldn't update the Web server. If I did, the site would break.

I've been meaning to change the software for a long, long time, but there were few options.

ZenForo was created by the programmers who created vBulletin 3, long considered the most stable version of the message board script. A growing number of message boards have made the move from vBulletin to XenForo. After doing some research, I decided to make the switch here at Cyburbia, on a Saturday in early January when traffic is slow..

I'm still learning the lay of the land. There's still some configuration and tweaking that needs to be done. In the meantime, here's a brief FAQ, which we'll amend over time.

What happened to the avatars?

For some reason, the conversion script didn't move the old avatars over. If you have 25 posts or more, you should be able to upload a new avatar to replace the default initial. Click on your username on the top right, hover over the letter, and click on "edit avatar". Alternatively, click on your username at the top, then "account details".

Where's the image gallery?

I've been debating getting rid of it, because there's better options out there. We're going to install the XenForo version of the old PhotoPost image gallery, and hopefully all the old uploads will transfer over. However, it'll be there so you can save your old uploads. Image hosting takes up a lot of bandwidth and server space, and it doesn't draw that much more traffic to the site. I'd like to turn the gallery off permanently by the middle of 2019.

Where's the blog?

Nobody was using it, so it went bye bye. I might add a blogging platform in the future, if traffic picks up.

Where's the ad banner?