• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Science degree and planning....what next?

Hi!

I'm a Canadian student who has just finished my undergrad in biology and am interested in environmental science. I wasn't sure I wanted to do research so I applied to a graduate program in planning and got in. I want to work in environmental conservation but I'm unsure what options would be available to me and if there would be more options if I had a planning degree?

mike gurnee

Cyburbian
There is a crying need need in planning for persons with a biology/environmetnal sciences background.

Thanks for the reply! I am mostly interested in finding a career where i can do a significant amount of travelling. Is there scope for such a career in planning? What types of jobs should I be looking into?

I also had a question about statistics. Urban Planning seems to involve a lot of statistical analysis, is this a right assessment? The program I was looking into was at the University of Toronto, do you know anything about their urban planning program and the courses there? Do Canadian schools have any type of ranking system?

Thanks!

Cardinal

Cyburbian