• Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no echo chambers. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! You can also register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

Should I give up my admission to a MCRP degree?

ggggrace

I'm a newly admitted grad student for a city planning degree in the US starting this fall (2019), and I decided to specialize in transport planning.
But after working in the DOT of my hometown for a while, I found my real interest is in the private sector, especially tech companies like Uber, Lyft, and other sharing economy services.

And I further found in these companies the core seems to be IT and business people, instead of transport planning, even hardly find transport engineering positions. Although Lyft does have some positions require urban planning/GIS background, but still very few.

I admit that I did not think thoroughly enough before applying. I'm very interested in urban issues and want to make people's lives better. Even though, I found that collaborating with my teammates, creating some service really useful, developing our business and making a profit because of our good work is what I want. Thus, I start to feel that a MCRP degree may not be the best fit of my interest.

Should give up studying this MCRP degree and just start applying for jobs among sharing economy companies? Or should I look for courses and career opportunities during this 2 year's study (which I consider very long since I already have a master's degree in geography..)?

Looking forward to any suggestions!

Planit

Cyburbian