• We're a fun, friendly, and diverse group of planners, placemakers, students, and other folks who found their people here. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! Use your email address, or register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

Site planning techniques

jbresner

I'm an architect student taking a site planning course and was wondering if I could get some expertise from some professionals.

I'm working on a project investigating a site and providing an analysis of it. The final project will include analysis of both natural and man-made/cultural factors. Of the man-made/cultural factors, I'm trying to figure out the best way to approach zoning issues and legal constraints as they pertain to the site.

Right now, I'm collecting the materials (zoning map, master plan for site (it's my campus that's being investigated for the project), a GLUP, and a plat.

What I've come up with so far to analyze regarding zoning and legal constraints for this site are:
1. Indicate which ordinances affect the site's development and how they affect it.
2. Indicate adjacent property data (owner, zoning, demographics)

Is there anything else I could or should be doing?

Thanks for the help

SW MI Planner

Cyburbian
Awww :) He called us professionals!!!

hahha just kidding.

Some other things that should be taken into consideration:

Soils - are the soils on the site appropriate for the use of the property. You should get a soil survey of the land.

Transportation - Does the site have adequate access from public roads for traffic to and from the proposed development.

Utilities - is the location served by utilities, and do they have the capacity to service any proposed development.