• Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, the built environment, planning adjacent topics, and anything else that comes to mind. No ads, no spam, and it's free. It's easy to join!

Grad / masters 🎓 Thinking about a master's in urban planning - your advice?

morrison

Hi everyone,

I was browsing this forum and found peoples' suggestions really helpful, so thought I would venture in to ask for some advice! Any feedback or thoughts are much appreciated.

I graduated a few years ago from Northwestern with a degree in engineering and minor in political science. For the past couple years, I've been working in international development (specifically agtech), and now I'm interested in moving back to the US and working on domestic social issues, perhaps affordable housing or civic technology. I actually stumbled across urban planning when I was looking at more generalist MBA and MPA programs, and I found that the MCP/MUP coursework was basically all of the things I wanted to learn more about (technical skills like stats and visual design + social issues and history). I haven't ruled out the idea of trying to get into academia eventually, but right now I'm just looking for a way to build up skills/knowledge that will help me do impactful and interesting public service work in the short-term.

Questions:

1) Is a master's in urban planning the wrong way to go?