• Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no echo chambers. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! You can also register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

Transportation Planning

Bucky alum

Hey Tranplanner and others, I'm new to this website and trying to see if I want to get a Masters in Transportation or if I want to get an MBA and keep my job in the airline industry. I am interested in how people get around and how you plan usage levels, costs, etc. Is this what you do?

If not, what is your day like? Trying to get a feel for what everybody does around here. My background is in finance for an airline. Thanks.

Tranplanner

maudit anglais
Bucky alum said:
Hey Tranplanner and others, I'm new to this website and trying to see if I want to get a Masters in Transportation or if I want to get an MBA and keep my job in the airline industry. I am interested in how people get around and how you plan usage levels, costs, etc. Is this what you do?
You mean, when I'm not surfing Cyburbia?

If not, what is your day like? Trying to get a feel for what everybody does around here. My background is in finance for an airline. Thanks.
I do a lot of different things - transportation "planning" where I am now is definitely focused more on the softer side i.e. non-engineering aspects of sustainable transportation, bicycles, transit, etc. I know the technical side, but I'm not an engineer - I'm a planner.

Current major projects:

1) Functional planning for an LRT line
2) Travel demand forecasting for an area of the City
3) Provide Transportation input for a large-scale redevelopment