• Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no echo chambers. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! You can also register through your Reddit, Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.

Trent Lott

Trent Lott?

• Racist - And he's gotta go!

Votes: 10 37.0%
  • Stupid - And he's gotta go!

Votes: 11 40.7%
  • Stupid - And he should stay.

Votes: 5 18.5%
  • Neither - Just a good ol'Boy

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Who's Trent Lott

Votes: 1 3.7%

• Total voters

el Guapo

Capitalist
I have been out of the loop most of this week. This is my first time back on the board in three days with some time to comment. OK, here goes. I spent about 8 years bashing Bill Clinton and with damn good reasons that were proved out over time. So with that said, when one on your team pulls an unforgivable suicidal quote out of the atmosphere pervasive in Selma Alabama in the early 1960’s you have to go on record. I really thought the vast majority of conservatives were past this kind of muddled thinking. Trent Lott was wrong, uncaring and just stupid in his comments. Some say there was no racist intent, just a longing for the good old days. That is BS. Any fourth grader would know enough not to stand next to a David Duke, a Strom Thurmond or a Bull Connors and reminisce about the good old days. Sorry. There has to be some hate in a heart to get that out past your lips. Many of the guys in his generation are functional racists. I believe he is one of them. This is not the conservatism I and many many others practice. This is a conservative with a problem and I don’t wish to have him in a position of any political power ever again. I have notified my elected officials.

The hardest part of this was being on the same side of this issue as Jessie and Al.

Tranplanner

maudit anglais