• We're a fun, friendly, and diverse group of planners, placemakers, students, and other folks who found their people here. Create your FREE Cyburbia ID, and join us today! Use your email address, or register through your Facebook, Google, Twitter, or Microsoft account.
  • If you registered on Thursday (3-21) , please re-register. Thank you!

School: University of Illinois - Chicago (UIC) 🇺🇸 University of Illinois - Chicago thread

J2

I am considering attending UIC in the MUPP program. (I'm an IL resident -- thus the price is right.) Does anyone out there have opinions about / experience with the Masters of Urban Planning and Policy Program at the University of Illinois in Chicago? Of the 'research institutes' there, are any better known/admired (e.g. the Great Cities Institute)? Are any of the faculty particularly distinguished / capable / helpful? Finally, do any of the 'specialties' (community planning, economic planning, international planning, physical planning, transportation planning, housing) lead to better job opportunities/pay? And of these, which calls for the most 'creativity/originality' on the planner's part and which might (I realize this is somewhat subjective) offer the most satisfaction (in the sense of doing something that is really and truly important -- that is really and truly making the world a better place). Any help here will be greatly appreciated. -- J.

Judd

Why don't you consider U of I Urbana?

I'm doing a master's there - from New York no less, and it's got evrything you could possibly want in a planning school.

Plus, not only is it cheap for you, but they offer assistantships which cover tuition and grant you a healthy amount of spending cash as well.
Take a look...www.urban.uiuc.edu.

Judd

schchtmn@uiuc.edu

Peter Bratt

Cyburbian