• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Hi there! 👋 Urban design education and professions

sdcaman2003

Hello all,
I hold a Bachelor of Arts degree in Geography from the University of Vermont and am currently pursuing a Master of City Planning at San Diego State University. I have 7 years of experience in GIS, cartography, aerial imagery, and spatial analysis.

My interests lie in geography, sociology, urban design, regional planning, and architecture. To sum it up, I love the spatial layout and design of urban areas on a social and functional level. I am wondering if pursuing an additional Master of Urban Design degree OR a Master of Architecture would help to set a clear career path for myself in urban design and planning on the private consulting level. This of course would accompany internships and professional experience within the industry.

I am not interested in becoming a licensed and practicing architect, rather I would like to become a planner by trade who possesses the skills and knowledge to carry out urban design projects in the private sector. Any advice, personal experience, etc, are most valued and appreciated.

Also, what sorts of salaries for urban designers can be expected with several years of professional design and educational experience?

NHPlanner

A shadow of my former self
Staff member
Mod Note:

Please do not post identical threads in multiple forums, I've deleted the duplicate thread.

NHPlanner

Staff member
Re: thanks for the correction....

sdcaman2003 said:
But do you have any advice???

-Scott