• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

Volunteer work

JNL

Cyburbian
AIB Budgie..

Here's a chance to discuss volunteer work you have done in your community. This is NOT a competition, but rather a chance to learn a bit more about, and maybe be inspired by, some of your fellow Cyburbanites.

So, what volunteer work have you done? And/or, what are you thinking of doing?

I am new to it myself but found I really enjoyed being a volunteer marshall at a women's triathlon recently. I am thinking of becoming a Youthline counsellor which is basically being a telephone counsellor for young people to call when they need someone to talk to about problems/issues/worries, and act as a point of referral to other services if necessary. Shifts are only 2.5 hours 3x a month in the evening. 10 weeks of training though!

Chet

Cyburbian Emeritus
I havent done anything lately, but in the recent past I have done warehouse work for a local food pantry, have volunteered for the local chapter of the Cystic Fibrosis foundation staffing events, and did some fund raising for the AIDS Resource Center.

Lee Nellis

Cyburbian
We are currently serving as foster parents for an extremely neurotic cat for the Feral Cat Foundation. Having just cleaned up another "expression" of his issues, I am not sure I'd recommend this job.

The best time of our lives was last summer's volunteer work: taking 45 days to serve as wilderness rangers in an area of national forest that would otherwise have had virtually no Forest Service presence all summer.

jestes

Cyburbian
Over the last several years I have had several opportunities to volunteer in my community. Among them are: