• Ongoing coronavirus / COVID-19 discussion: how is the pandemic affecting your community, workplace, and wellness? 🦠

Working from home? So are we. Come join us! Cyburbia is a friendly big tent, where we share our experiences and thoughts about urban planning practice, planning adjacent topics, and whatever else comes to mind. No ads, no spam, no social distancing.

What makes you feel good?

nerudite

Cyburbian
No, it's not what you think. ;)

What makes you feel good as a planner... what have you done that makes you say "Damn, I love this job!"?

nerudite

Cyburbian
Okay, the reason I am asking this question is because I feel *so good today* about what I do for a living!

Here in Alberta, environmental protection occurs at the provincial level. In the case of wetlands, typically what happens is a developer will bring a plan to the province showing the wetlands, and the province basically says which ones they want to protect. Everything else can be plowed under for all they care.

I got a plan in a few months ago for a 208 ha (approx. 500 ac) development adjacent to riparian areas, a river and in close proximity to a lake with significant breeding grounds. The province said keep the natural areas next to the river, but the developer can bulldoze the rest. Under the environmental review hierarchy, there isn't anything I can do to require the other wetlands be saved. However, one wetland is currently serving as natural stormwater management and filtration for about 400 ha of land. It is also a nesting ground for several species. The developer was proposing to bulldoze it under and replace it with a normal stormwater pond that would take up less land area.